Copyright Notice

Clone me, Clone me, says Dolly sheepishly.

Last update: 4-Feb-2020 23:47 UTC


The following copyright notice applies to all files collectively called the Network Time Protocol Version 4 Distribution. Unless specifically declared otherwise in an individual file, this entire notice applies as if the text was explicitly included in the file.

***********************************************************************
*                                                                     *
* Copyright (c) University of Delaware 1992-2015                      *
*                                                                     *
* Permission to use, copy, modify, and distribute this software and   *
* its documentation for any purpose with or without fee is hereby     *
* granted, provided that the above copyright notice appears in all    *
* copies and that both the copyright notice and this permission       *
* notice appear in supporting documentation, and that the name        *
* University of Delaware not be used in advertising or publicity      *
* pertaining to distribution of the software without specific,        *
* written prior permission. The University of Delaware makes no       *
* representations about the suitability this software for any         *
* purpose. It is provided "as is" without express or implied          *
* warranty.                                                           *
*                                                                     *
***********************************************************************

Content starting in 2011 from Harlan Stenn, Danny Mayer, and Martin Burnicki is:

***********************************************************************
*                                                                     *
* Copyright (c) Network Time Foundation 2011-2020                     *
*                                                                     *
* All Rights Reserved                                                 *
*                                                                     *
* Redistribution and use in source and binary forms, with or without  *
* modification, are permitted provided that the following conditions  *
* are met:                                                            *
* 1. Redistributions of source code must retain the above copyright   *
*    notice, this list of conditions and the following disclaimer.    *
* 2. Redistributions in binary form must reproduce the above          *
*    copyright notice, this list of conditions and the following      *
*    disclaimer in the documentation and/or other materials provided  *
*    with the distribution.                                           *
*                                                                     *
* THIS SOFTWARE IS PROVIDED BY THE AUTHORS ``AS IS'' AND ANY EXPRESS  *
* OR IMPLIED WARRANTIES, INCLUDING, BUT NOT LIMITED TO, THE IMPLIED   *
* WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY AND FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE  *
* ARE DISCLAIMED. IN NO EVENT SHALL THE AUTHORS OR CONTRIBUTORS BE    *
* LIABLE FOR ANY DIRECT, INDIRECT, INCIDENTAL, SPECIAL, EXEMPLARY, OR *
* CONSEQUENTIAL DAMAGES (INCLUDING, BUT NOT LIMITED TO, PROCUREMENT   *
* OF SUBSTITUTE GOODS OR SERVICES; LOSS OF USE, DATA, OR PROFITS; OR  *
* BUSINESS INTERRUPTION) HOWEVER CAUSED AND ON ANY THEORY OF          *
* LIABILITY, WHETHER IN CONTRACT, STRICT LIABILITY, OR TORT           *
* (INCLUDING NEGLIGENCE OR OTHERWISE) ARISING IN ANY WAY OUT OF THE   *
* USE OF THIS SOFTWARE, EVEN IF ADVISED OF THE POSSIBILITY OF SUCH    *
* DAMAGE.                                                             *
***********************************************************************

The following individuals contributed in part to the Network Time Protocol Distribution Version 4 and are acknowledged as authors of this work.

  1. Takao Abe takao_abe@xurb.jp Clock driver for JJY receivers
  2. Mark Andrews mark_andrews@isc.org Leitch atomic clock controller
  3. Bernd Altmeier altmeier@atlsoft.de hopf Elektronik serial line and PCI-bus devices
  4. Viraj Bais vbais@mailman1.intel.com and Clayton Kirkwood kirkwood@striderfm.intel.com port to WindowsNT 3.5
  5. Michael Barone <michael,barone@lmco.com> GPSVME fixes
  6. Karl Berry karl@owl.HQ.ileaf.com syslog to file option
  7. Greg Brackley greg.brackley@bigfoot.com Major rework of WINNT port. Clean up recvbuf and iosignal code into separate modules.
  8. Marc Brett Marc.Brett@westgeo.com Magnavox GPS clock driver
  9. Piete Brooks Piete.Brooks@cl.cam.ac.uk MSF clock driver, Trimble PARSE support
  10. Nelson B Bolyard nelson@bolyard.me update and complete broadcast and crypto features in sntp
  11. Jean-Francois Boudreault Jean-Francois.Boudreault@viagenie.qc.ca IPv6 support
  12. Reg Clemens reg@dwf.com Oncore driver (Current maintainer)
  13. Steve Clift clift@ml.csiro.au OMEGA clock driver
  14. Casey Crellin casey@csc.co.za vxWorks (Tornado) port and help with target configuration
  15. Sven Dietrich sven_dietrich@trimble.com Palisade reference clock driver, NT adj. residuals, integrated Greg’s Winnt port.
  16. John A. Dundas III dundas@salt.jpl.nasa.gov Apple A/UX port
  17. Torsten Duwe duwe@immd4.informatik.uni-erlangen.de Linux port
  18. Dennis Ferguson dennis@mrbill.canet.ca foundation code for NTP Version 2 as specified in RFC-1119
  19. John Hay jhay@icomtek.csir.co.za IPv6 support and testing
  20. Dave Hart davehart@davehart.com General maintenance, Windows port interpolation rewrite
  21. Claas Hilbrecht neoclock4x@linum.com NeoClock4X clock driver
  22. Glenn Hollinger glenn@herald.usask.ca GOES clock driver
  23. Mike Iglesias iglesias@uci.edu DEC Alpha port
  24. Jim Jagielski jim@jagubox.gsfc.nasa.gov A/UX port
  25. Jeff Johnson jbj@chatham.usdesign.com massive prototyping overhaul
  26. Hans Lambermont Hans.Lambermont@nl.origin-it.com or H.Lambermont@chello.nl ntpsweep
  27. Poul-Henning Kamp phk@FreeBSD.ORG Oncore driver (Original author)
  28. Frank Kardel <kardel (at) ntp (dot) org> PARSE (driver 14 reference clocks), STREAMS modules for PARSE, support scripts, syslog cleanup, dynamic interface handling
  29. Johannes Maximilian Kuehn kuehn@ntp.org Rewrote sntp to comply with NTPv4 specification, ntpq saveconfig
  30. William L. Jones jones@hermes.chpc.utexas.edu RS/6000 AIX modifications, HPUX modifications
  31. Dave Katz dkatz@cisco.com RS/6000 AIX port
  32. Craig Leres leres@ee.lbl.gov 4.4BSD port, ppsclock, Magnavox GPS clock driver
  33. George Lindholm lindholm@ucs.ubc.ca SunOS 5.1 port
  34. Louis A. Mamakos louie@ni.umd.edu MD5-based authentication
  35. Lars H. Mathiesen thorinn@diku.dk adaptation of foundation code for Version 3 as specified in RFC-1305
  36. Danny Mayer mayer@ntp.orgNetwork I/O, Windows Port, Code Maintenance
  37. David L. Mills mills@udel.edu Version 4 foundation, precision kernel; clock drivers: 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 11, 13, 18, 19, 22, 36
  38. Wolfgang Moeller moeller@gwdgv1.dnet.gwdg.de VMS port
  39. Jeffrey Mogul mogul@pa.dec.com ntptrace utility
  40. Tom Moore tmoore@fievel.daytonoh.ncr.com i386 svr4 port
  41. Kamal A Mostafa kamal@whence.com SCO OpenServer port
  42. Derek Mulcahy derek@toybox.demon.co.uk and Damon Hart-Davis d@hd.org ARCRON MSF clock driver
  43. Rob Neal neal@ntp.org Bancomm refclock and config/parse code maintenance
  44. Rainer Pruy Rainer.Pruy@informatik.uni-erlangen.de monitoring/trap scripts, statistics file handling
  45. Dirce Richards dirce@zk3.dec.com Digital UNIX V4.0 port
  46. Wilfredo Sánchez wsanchez@apple.com added support for NetInfo
  47. Nick Sayer mrapple@quack.kfu.com SunOS streams modules
  48. Jack Sasportas jack@innovativeinternet.com Saved a Lot of space on the stuff in the html/pic/ subdirectory
  49. Ray Schnitzler schnitz@unipress.com Unixware1 port
  50. Michael Shields shields@tembel.org USNO clock driver
  51. Jeff Steinman jss@pebbles.jpl.nasa.gov Datum PTS clock driver
  52. Harlan Stenn harlan@pfcs.com GNU automake/autoconfigure makeover, various other bits (see the ChangeLog)
  53. Kenneth Stone ken@sdd.hp.com HP-UX port
  54. Ajit Thyagarajan ajit@ee.udel.eduIP multicast/anycast support
  55. Tomoaki TSURUOKA tsuruoka@nc.fukuoka-u.ac.jpTRAK clock driver
  56. Brian Utterback brian.utterback@oracle.com General codebase, Solaris issues
  57. Loganaden Velvindron loganaden@gmail.com Sandboxing (libseccomp) support
  58. Paul A Vixie vixie@vix.com TrueTime GPS driver, generic TrueTime clock driver
  59. Ulrich Windl Ulrich.Windl@rz.uni-regensburg.de corrected and validated HTML documents according to the HTML DTD